All times are UTC

Post subject: Bringing my girlfriend to (possibly) an independent Scotland
Post Number:#1  PostPosted: 26 Jun 2014 08:30 

Her/His Country: Russia
Times_to_FSU: 2
Hi there Wiz, and the rest of the forum, many thanks for accepting me onto the forum.

My name is Sean. I am a 35 year old plumber and writer from Scotland. I am a British citizen and I would like some advice about my relationship with my non EU resident girlfriend.

We have been seeing each other now for almost 2 years. She is 28 years old and has been studying languages and conference interpretation and translation in Granada Spain for the past five years. Two years ago she took an Erasmus year to study in Edinburgh at Heriot and watt university where we met and started dating.

Now she is back doing her final year in Granada which will come to a conclusion in July and August of this year and then because of working Visa restrictions she must return to Russia to look for work or finish her masters degree there. She is struggling to find any kind of work in Spain right now because of the economy and probably with the added hassle that she is on a Russian study visa too.

This past year I have been back and forth to Granada to visit her and she has come back to Edinburgh 3 times also during term breaks. I have also been to Russia twice to visit her during longer summer and winter breaks. (Thanks to easyjets new UK routes :) The return flights were cheaper than both my train tickets to Manchester from Edinburgh and my Russian Visa lol)

But now I was just wondering what my options are once she is forced to return to Russia to find work which will fund her masters degree in a few years. (Which she plans to do in London)